Deep Beauty – Part 1

 

display_imageCATRK7ZK

Ever since I was a little girl, I long to know I was beautiful. I desired to know that I was lovely.
I even asked my Dad if he thought I was. I didn’t see my beauty or worth, and
I ached to have someone like my Dad help me make sense of where I fit in.
Everyone else was more important than I was, and on the roImagead to somewhere. I wanted
to jump on the fast track too; it’s just that Jesus had other plans for me. Living in
poverty doesn’t just have to be materially, most of us live in poverty because we haven’t
experienced His love, which heals our invisible wounds.

The last two years, I have been wandering in the desert. Jesus is the driver, and I am the passenger letting the wind whip my hair all over the place. I am a passenger on this journey, longing to be a part  of the beauty that exists here in austerity.

It’s the surface that many people live in, most of us are too busy with work, relationship, and stuff considered more important. Letting the world dictate what you should do, eventually will push the desires of your heart further away until it will not be a part of you. This desire will float around you like an oasis that you can no longer reach onto what is good.

I completed a Lectio Divina. I don’t remember the verse, but what stayed with me was how I would respond to what I had received. Jesus wanted to teach me how to dive into the deep with Him, to trust in him, and in  the process taking my ability to love Him deeper. Taking my fragile trust, and plunging into deep waters. I guess you could call it freestyle diving without all the equipment. Essentially, I felt the Lord was calling me to do the same, except He would be my oxygen.

What I wanted the most was to love Him with all my heart, mind and soul. Still, I am out of breath and the strength to love Him as I know He desires, but I am learning where and when to rest, and listening to him when he says, ‘Let me do it.’

I know that I can trust the Lord with all my heart, but then comes ‘lean not on your own understanding.'(v.5)* Interiorly, I am learning that my physical beauty pales in comparison to the beauty that lies on the inside of me. Much like the burning that the men from Emmaus** experienced, who spoke with Jesus, and yet did not realize their hearts burned within themselves until Jesus revealed himself, only to then disappear from their sight.

*Proverbs 3:5
**Luke 24:31

Leave a Reply

