A Heart Pursued

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Hope has two daughters; their names are Anger and Courage.Anger at the way things are, and the Courage to see that they do not remain as they are.

St. Augustine of Hippo

This is my third or fourth attempt at starting this post. I know what I want to say, but I don’t really. I know how I have been feeling the last week, I want to convey that but  my internal editor walks in and crosses it out. I want perfection, but I know that wanting it will not solve a single thing, and besides I do not like the word, perfect. Okay, let’s go for clarity.

Sabotage

The slow burn of remembering and feeling the unworthiness of my being keeps coming up. Somehow, it has slipped into little

crevices and cracks in me. Instead of allowing blessings and light, I pushed them aside, convinced that I don’t deserve what I want. So why does He grants this same desire to others when I know I am not the only who has deemed herself otherwise.

The only hold out is my permanent vocation. Maybe this isn’t important, but I don’t have peace about where I am. Don’t get me wrong, I have always been single so I am not saying it is the worst thing in the world – that it is not. It’s hard, at least for me, to truly find firm footing in this world as a single. I think there’s this under current that doesn’t know how to truly embrace the notion of singleness because it doesn’t include having flings with that friend who is armed with benefits. Maybe it is the hope of something more, the dance inside of me that though fades with time leaves its lingering aroma. A calling card of sorts from the Holy Spirit.

Ever since I can remember I have loved words, and I would space providing would write anywhere. It’s been a long road, and I don’t see it coming to an end anytime soon, as I’ve only started writing my novel. It’s not my first attempt at writing a novel, but this time I know it’s different because I plan on finishing this novel, no, it won’t go to the bestsellers, but I am going to write novels until I believe I am ready to approach my way to publication, and in the process realizing a long-held dream. Here’s a perfect example of where for years, I didn’t think I was worthy enough to write and pursue my heart desire. It’s taken a while to believe that yes, I  do have a talent for writing!

Yes, being single is easy because you don’t have the all pressures of being in a relationship that is til death do you part. I don’t know all the pro’s and con’s. All I do know is I expected to get married like everyone else, but the reality is the Lord has never allowed me to part of the ‘popular group’. I can stomp my feet all I want but it won’t help me. I have tried different avenues in my desire to be married, and all it does is frustrate me.

Or maybe I am attached to the idea of my happily ever after?

Maybe I don’t even believe that the Lord has someone for me, maybe I’ve just gotten tired of waiting on something that I don’t know will ever materialize. I don’t know how to pray for something that seems impossible. All I want to do is let go and move on, but what happened to the happily ever after, and is it still possible despite trying to push that nagging hope that is locked inside of me.

The quote that starts out this post comes from a book that I have yet to start, but this quote really intrigues me. I have the anger, but I don’t yet have the courage. It could be as simple as having that courage to keep praying for my heart’s desire to be filled.

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “A Heart Pursued

  1. I just had a new thought. We always hear the phrase “happily ever after” as the tag line for “And the two of them lived…” Maybe it’s possible that all humans are meant to live “happily ever after” as individuals, even though some join together and share that happiness.

    I’ve never heard anyone talk about what the “after” is, in “happily ever after.” Maybe our error is to assume that the phrase means “happily ever after they got married” when in fact it means something completely different. It’s something to think about.

    Like

  2. Pingback: The Struggle of God’s Will | St Monica's Bridge

  3. This so spoke to my soul. Thank you. I have a friend who feels very much the same in her search for a husband. And until I met my husband, I was sure I was destined to be alone and it tore at my soul for a long time. Even now, with a husband and children, I remember that time so clearly. I feel it in a different way in all the endless prayers and novenas we’ve said in the past six years for a fourth child who has never been given to us.

    Like

    • I am always so happy to hear when the Lord uses something I write to help and aid others. And thank-you for affirming how I feel isn’t irrational! I do have to admit that after I wrote this post, I have felt this wonderful peace, and the burden has disappeared. You have made my day! blessings to you.

      Like

  4. Pingback: And I Repeat | The Broken Tea Cup

Leave a Reply

