Jesus Rides a Green Bicycle

 

 

file9991303336088

Hearing God’s voice is not like learning how to ride a bicycle, though to hear it sometimes you need to get back on in order to hear him speak to you.

~

There are many things that I have no problem doing alone, but in the last few years I have been finding out there are some things that I don’t want or like doing alone.

Riding a bicycle is one of them

When I first moved out on my own, I lived in an area that offers a lot of green space that is great area for walking, biking, running, boating in the summer, and in the winter, sledding and skating. I hesitate at suggesting you could fish because usually the fish don’t look too appetizing once they’re caught.

Initially, I bought the bicycle because I thought I had heard the Lord tell me to buy one. I wanted to be obedient to what I was hearing, but I wasn’t sure. I hadn’t rode a bicycle since I was 14 when I had broken my tail bone, but I wanted to try because I thought I heard him. I figure I had nothing to lose.

It’s all in the hearing the Lord, and how exactly do I do that? Well, a lot can be gleaned from His character. I know certain things about him, and so that allows me to have a good idea if it is him. Normally, I hear the Lord through a mixture of scripture reading, listening to that small still voice and journaling. Now, I can hear him through other ways, but he’s faithful to how he speaks to me.

First of all, I want to be up front

For any of you who have read this blog for any length of time, you will know that over five years ago, the Lord began tweaking my ability to sense Him. I used to be able to discern His answers (sometimes) in how I felt, but He changed things up because He doesn’t want you or me to stay where we are. It’s a good thing if you’re gung ho for change, but most of us aren’t, and we complain all the way there.

Most of us, and I am including myself in this group, deny that we hear anything that could be God. Yes, we’ll make mistakes, but the one thing I have learnt is He is faithful in how he speaks to us.

Being Open to Change

Lately, he speaks and it’s like a river that is running through me, it’s not a voice, but I am standing on dry ground and in it I can see a watery reflection of me. He’s taking me in deeper, and in it, I am ‘seeing’ and ‘hearing’ his silence and solitude, which is paving a way for me to ponder and reflect His invisible presence in me. For in him, we live and move and have our being. Acts~17:28.

I did ride a bicycle for a time, but I always got the feeling someone was right behind me and this bugged me. Whoever it was could just pass me. I would stop and look behind me, and there was no one, zip, nada, zero…This happen on more than one occasion, so I stopped taking going for a bike ride and for other reasons. It turns out someone was riding their bicycle behind me – it was Him.

4 thoughts on “Jesus Rides a Green Bicycle

  1. The verse from Acts that you quoted is one of my favorites. It just feels right. When you mentioned by bicycle, I was taken back to the days of learning to ride, with my dad following along behind, steadying the bike so I wouldn’t tip. One day, I went whizzing along, and suddenly realized he was half a block back. He’d let go, and I was on my own… but not really.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

