In Search of the Great Wide Open – Part 1

photo-1451337516015-6b6e9a44a8a3

Matthew ~7:7-8

Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you. For every one who asks receives, and he who seeks find, and to him who knocks it will be opened. Matthew ~7:7-8

Based on reading Matthew 7:7, it’s just the process that I have been going through the last few months. I feel as if I haven’t prayed in this way before. Some days it’s like I am standing in front of a deep and dark forest, and I don’t know how I will make my way through. The branches are tangled and entwined with each other that I’m at a loss to how to trample through this place.

I have been studying Matthew 7:7, and I have taken some ideas of what is happening here. First, there is the foundation to all of our prayers: asking. You ask Him for something, and then you move into seeking, which in my estimation is where you get down to the nitty-gritty: prayer, a.k.a; having a personal relationship with the creator of the Universe. The last part is knocking, and right now I haven’t arrived at that point. Seeking can take a while.

One thing that is important I think is to be specific. If we know exactly what are our desires are, it’s better than having free rein at the local toy store. Besides most of what we crave can’t be bought. Be not afraid to ask for what you want because he might want to know how much you want it. This is a dicey one for me. So he provides the situation for the tickle that will encourage you to seek Him with your petition. To dig underneath this desire he has planted in you. To really want what He wants for you. To me it doesn’t make sense. It’s a desire that God has given to you, but first he wants to know just how much you really want it. In the meantime, you keep asking the same question or telling him what it is; that your heart desires. Again and again and again.

This is where being specific comes in handy.

Sometimes we bury the desires of our heart. Digging deep into our hearts can be hard. The majority of people don’t linger in the dark alleys or recesses of our memories. Going deeper isn’t clean or without pain.

Keep saying the words over and over.  He hasn’t given you a timeline, or a deadline to as when he will answer your question, so until then, keep seeking even when it makes no sense. Starting to ask is only the beginning because he wants to answer us. He wants us to know that we will receive, and He wants us to believe He hears us. Seeking always leads me to think I am searching for a treasure, and knocking can bring us into a whole new arrival in our lives. Our treasure is knowing his Heart for us, knowing it, and believing it.

Praying is trusting

A few months ago, I got praying is trusting while I was journaling. It was out of the ordinary because I would’ve never put the two together. We trust in Him when we are praying, as we speak to Him asking questions, and scavenging for treasure and knocking on doors that open us to new life. When I pray I don’t consciously think about what is changing in or around me, but I keep reading that it does exactly that – change us. The more I thought about praying is trusting, the more I realized, yeah it is. To tell someone of the desires of your heart indicates trust in this particular person. Most of us probably don’t truly understand what our hearts really craves, or if we do, we’ll deny ourselves this one thing because of the shame factor. When we tell someone, it brings our heart out of the darkness and into the light.IMG_8863

Some days, I avoid journaling, but it doesn’t mean I don’t want to. There is life and spirit, and there is this constant friction in which we live in.  We live in a world of entitlement, but there’s also an undercurrent of belief of unworthiness. You can base your value on just because you are worth it, and that is what the world tells us to do. However, I’ve found it hard to do that. I don’t know about you but it’s hard to trust in myself. I have failed myself too many times to believe I alone can act to change in my life without His help.

2 thoughts on “In Search of the Great Wide Open – Part 1

  1. That photo you’ve included really is remarkable. Well, both of them are, but the one of the hand opening the door is so unusual, and thought-provoking.

    I like the way you’ve linked prayer and trust. And you brought to mind one of my friends, who always is saying I should do this or that — eat a piece of chocolate cake, or take a trip — because I “deserve it.” That seems so wrong to me, although I’ve never quite figured out why. I need to think about that some more.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

