Onward Marching: The Great Wide Open, Part 2

photo-1430933964450-0aefb85717c8

 

In order to understand what is going on when I am seeking the Lord, or at my point of view. I think my experience could best be described as stagnant in some places and a purging of toxins. In my perspective, the flowers still will flourish, there is fresh water in the streams trickling down beside the mountains. Of course there is a river from where the stream originates from. Flora and fauna of all sizes and colours in full bloom. The scent of freshly cut grass, the brilliant myriad of colourful tulips standing tall, wild daisies, it’s a quiet area with lots of life teeming from it. There’s no real official name for this location but the majority of us like to call it the Valley.

Yes, life in the valley is simple, nothing fancy or extremely hard. It’s the same thing every day without too much change, which also translates into mundane living. Since living in the valley is placed low, each day is pretty much the same with a little movement here and there. There’s a rhythm in how life operates on a daily grind. Neighbours to chat with, passersby to smile at, birds singing, jumping, and swooping to the next branch to perch with their other bird friends.

If you can’t stand being in the long haul, then you’ll have a hard time living in the valley. Even those who handle living in the valley fairly well sometimes gripe at the obvious things that normally wouldn’t bother them. Yeah, it’s okay, but there are days that the all the hard work you do each day, doesn’t seem worth all the sweat. You don’t hate what you’re doing, but there’s not lost love either. There are the days when want to make enough noise to attract the attention of the Creator because you’re getting tired of low living, substandard living – valley living.

If only if things would change:

The very fact that we long for the change we do is a sign that we are meant to have it. Our very dissatisfaction with our weakness and struggles points to the reality that continuing to live in them is not our destiny. – Stasi Eldredge, Becoming Myself

Seeking for the treasure of your heart requires persistence. Something I have fought against for years because so often things just didn’t work out the way I thought they should. As long as you don’t fight the status quo, you’ll reside in the valley of your choices. I believed that this was my due.

Learning to allowing myself to feel my pain, and see my desire a living reality all around me didn’t create the desired effect that I needed to get out of the valley. For the longest time I didn’t think I could even climb out of the valley because I didn’t know I was living in the valley. And again let me repeat, the valley is flourishing all the time, and provides the nourishment that is needed for each person. It is also the place that encourages us to want more than this village. In reality if you don’t want to move from the valley to a place that is a little higher to the purpose that the Lord has in mind for you, then don’t. He doesn’t push you out of the nest, he understands your hesitancy to move from someplace that is familiar to you. But the desire for doing something more will always remain. As time goes on, the pull won’t be as strong if you don’t exercise that ability to seek. Seeking is your greatest means of change, into the person you long to be.photo-1429979787503-f2d7d20550c8

There are all kinds of reasons for stopping and staying for longer amounts of time in the valley than first anticipated. When I was a still of an age to do lots of daydreaming without all those ‘buts’ that that would eventually raze all of my dreams, I really believed what my heart wanted. At least at a fairy tale level because it is there that hope knows no bounds.

~

Therefore, my dear brothers, be steadfast, unmovable, always excelling in the work of the Lord, because you know that the work that you do for the Lord isn’t wasted. 1 Corinthians 15:58

3 thoughts on “Onward Marching: The Great Wide Open, Part 2

  1. Your musings reminded me of one of my favorite songs, that makes the valley sound downright pleasant:

    “‘Tis the gift to be simple, ’tis the gift to be free
    ‘Tis the gift to come down where we ought to be,
    And when we find ourselves in the place just right,
    ‘Twill be in the valley of love and delight.”

    And here’s one of my favorite versions.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Pruning the Branches | The Broken Tea Cup

Leave a Reply

