Try Again

 

In the past, I didn’t want to try. I know that I have trouble with this very short word. It’s all of three letters, but it can convey a lot of emotion in a short span of time. It brings up the cons and pros, but it doesn’t really give you an answer. Maybe it’s a push to see what’s on the other side, the other side instead of pouting, and telling everyone – it’s not working for you.

I looked up the word online; try, you will find that it is a verb, so again it’s an action word. A go forth from here, but it can also be a noun. I don’t know about you, but  an image of a rower as he moves the oars through the waters, gives me that idea ofphoto-1448518184296-a22facb4446f (1) what trying is in both as a verb and a noun. It illustrates how it can go from one end to the other. Trying to get to the finish line, seeing the goal and working towards it. Don’t forget all the work that must be done in order to get to the finish line. If you give up, you literally are abandoned in the middle of the lake.

Lately, my motivation to write has been waning, and like most things in life, part of writing is a discipline – at times a hard one. It’s easy to let everything else slurp up your time, and then at the end of the day you have nothing left. No time to write, even though you want to. I really do, but now I’m in the midst of outlining a novel, one which I am determined to finish, even if it turns out really bad. For over a year, I have been seriously trying to write. Right now it’s easier to read a lot, which I am doing, but I am realizing even if all I give to writing is half an hour that’s okay.

Now keep trying to trust

In my weakness, is where His strength abounds, so I decided to tell the Lord that I would try to trust in him. And you know what? I felt encouraged to try to trust him again. I even asked him to help me to trust in him because it’s what he wants – my trust in Him – in everything I do. So I am trying to trust. Part or all of my problem was that I was trying, physically, to trust in Him. I’ve learnt in a short amount of time that it’s him who gives me the desire to trust in Him, so I’ll let him do all the heavy work.

Before I would push away the hope that God would offer to me, I didn’t realize it was a gift from him. I am learning that trying keeps me open to the possibility of whatever.

2 thoughts on “Try Again

  1. I really like that last phrase: “open to the possibility of whatever.” The older I get, the more I realize I can’t always predict what the future holds. Trying to make the future fit my predetermined mold only guarantees one thing: an end to surprises. Well, and a lot of effort expended trying to control the uncontrollable.

    There’s another reason I like the image of the rower. In a rowboat, it’s ok now and then to just lift the oars and drift for a bit. It offers a chance to enjoy the scenery.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

